Announcing the Davao Writers Workshop 2014

Events by | June 28, 2014

The Davao Writers Guild, in cooperation with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts and the University of the Philippines Mindanao, is now accepting applications to the 2014 Davao Writers Workshop to be held October 23 to October 27, 2014. Fifteen fellowships are available, of which four will be given to writers from outside Davao but residing in Mindanao. more…

USLS Announces the 14th IYAS National Writers’ Workshop

Editor's Note, Events by | January 13, 2014

Announcement from the IYAS workshop:

The University of St. La Salle-Bacolod (USLS) is inviting young writers to submit their application for the 14th IYAS National Writers’ Workshop which will be held on April 20-26, 2014 at Balay Kalinungan, USLS-Bacolod.

Applicants should submit original work: either 6 poems, 2 short stories, or 2 one-act plays using a pseudonym, in one (1) computer-encoded hard copy of entry, font size 12, and soft copies in a CD (MSWord). Short stories must be numbered, by paragraph.

These are to be accompanied by a sealed size 10 business envelope with the author’s real name and a pseudonym, a 2×2 ID photo, and short resume, which must be mailed on or before February 15, 2014.

Entries in English, Cebuano, Hiligaynon, Tagalog or Filipino may be submitted. Fellowships are awarded by genre and by language.

Fifteen applicants will be chosen for the fellowships, which will include partial transportation subsidy and free board and lodging.

This year’s panelists include Rebecca Añonuevo, Grace Monte de Ramos-Arcellana, Genevieve Asenjo, D.M. Reyes, John Iremil Teodoro, and Marjorie Evasco as Workshop Director.

Please submit your application to: Ms. Rowena Japitana, IYAS Secretariat, Special Projects Office, University of St. La Salle, La Salle Avenue, Bacolod City. For inquiries, please email iyasliterary at

IYAS is held in collaboration with the Bienvenido N. Santos Creative Writing Center of De La Salle University-Manila and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts.

2013 Davao Writers Workshop Fellows

Events by | October 14, 2013

dww2013 poster

The Davao Writers Guild is pleased to announce the fellows to the 2013 Davao Writers Workshop:



Frank Lloyd de la Cruz (Davao)
Stephanie Gonzaga (Valencia, Bukidnon)
Vivialine Q. Salve (Davao)
Siverlyn Maghinay-Camposano (Digos)
Richard Moral, Jr. (Koronadal)
Glaiza P. Jimenea (Davao)



Zakiyyah Sinarimbo (Davao)
Jeffren Pancho Miguel (Davao)
Jon Kristoffer Pizarro (Butuan)
Prescilla Dorado (Davao)
Jelly May Malatabon (Davao)


Creative Nonfiction

Bianca Beatrice C. Adle (Davao)
Abdul Jabbar A. Marohom (Davao)
Christine Joy Salazar (Davao)
Reah Izza T. Paglinawan (Davao)


The panelists this year are Dr. Macario D. Tiu, Jhoanna Lynn Cruz, Nino Soria de Veyra, John Bengan, and guest writer Dr. Jaime An Lim.

The 2013 Davao Writers Workshop is organized by the Davao Writers Guild in cooperation with the National Commission for Culture & the Arts and UP Mindanao, and will be held at Lispher Inn, Matina, Davao City, from October 28 to November 1, 2013.

The workshop sessions are open to those interested to listen in and meet the writers.

Call for Entries: 2nd Satur P. Apoyon Tigi sa Mubong Sugilanong Binisaya

Events by | July 11, 2013

Fictionists who write in Bisaya and reside in Mindanao are invited to join the 2nd Satur P. Apoyon Tigi sa Mubong Sugilanong Binisaya. The deadline for submission is September 30, 2013.

The story should be original (written by the contestant), unpublished (not yet printed in any newspaper, magazine or book), and must not have won any awards. The printed story must have a minimum length of ten (10)  but must not exceed twenty (20) pages (encoded using Times New Roman, font size 12 points on letter-size paper, in double-spaced paragraphs). The contest entry packet should contain the following: three (3) copies of the story; a separate paper signed by the contestant stating that he/she is the author and that the story has not been published or awarded, with the contestant’s mailing address, e-mail, land-line and cellular phone number. The entry should be transmitted to: Rene A. Estremera, U.P. Mindanao, Mintal, Davao City 8022. An electronic copy of the entry in Rich Text Format (RTF) should be sent by email to: davaowritersguild-at-yahoo-dot-com-dot-ph ( Non-compliant entries will be automatically disqualified.

Each contestant is allowed only one (1) story as his/her entry. The criteria for judging are: Language (25%), Technique (25%), Relevance (25%), and Overall Impact (25%). The decisions of the board of judges will be considered final. Cash prizes are as follows: first prize, P5,000.00; second prize, P3,000.00; third prize, P2,000.00, and winners will be notified by cellphone and email.

This contest is a project of the Davao Writers Guild.

Call for Applications: 2013 Davao Writers Workshop

Events by | July 4, 2013

The Davao Writers Guild (DWG), in cooperation with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and University of the Philippines Mindanao, will hold a writers workshop on October 28 to November 1, 2013. Deadline for application is September 21, 2013.

Who May Apply: Fifteen writing fellows will be selected for the workshop. Applicants must be residents of Davao and Mindanao. Only two slots, however, are allotted to fellows within Mindanao but residing outside Davao & will receive transportation allowance of up to P1,000. Fellows will receive free board and lodging for the duration of the workshop. Past fellows of the Davao Writers Workshop, as well as of national writers workshops, are not eligible to apply.

Continue reading Call for Applications: 2013 Davao Writers Workshop

Ateneo de Davao Writers Workshop 2013

Events by | May 22, 2013

The Ateneo de Davao Writers Workshop will be held at Room C301, Ateneo de Davao University from 27-31 May 2013.

Distinguished writers such as Macario Tiu, Don Pagusara and Jhoanna Cruz are the panelists. They will also share their expertise during the craft lectures. Dominique Cimafranca, Rhodora Ranalan and Hazel Hamile, Creative Writing and Literature teachers of the university, will sit as guest panelists.

The fellows for this year’s AdDU Summer Writer’s Workshop are the following:

Sarah Samodal
Jhecel May Lovitos
Lionell Marañan
Louie Angelo Lim Ang
Frank Lloyd dela Cruz

Jose Martin Castrillo
Tiffany Motilla
Isabel Francesca Sambrano
Abdul Jabbar Marohom
Kristine Soria

Loreto Estor
Rachelle Corrine Estrellada
June Nicole Olayres
Kristina Clavero
Sean Año

The keynote speaker for this year is a renowned Filipino poet and Professor Merlie M. Alunan from the University of Visayas in Tacloban City, who will also launch a book during the workshop at the Ateneo de Davao University.

The workshop welcomes a number of observers who wish to learn the craft of writing.