USLS Announces the 14th IYAS National Writers’ Workshop

Editor's Note, Events by | January 13, 2014

Announcement from the IYAS workshop:

The University of St. La Salle-Bacolod (USLS) is inviting young writers to submit their application for the 14th IYAS National Writers’ Workshop which will be held on April 20-26, 2014 at Balay Kalinungan, USLS-Bacolod.

Applicants should submit original work: either 6 poems, 2 short stories, or 2 one-act plays using a pseudonym, in one (1) computer-encoded hard copy of entry, font size 12, and soft copies in a CD (MSWord). Short stories must be numbered, by paragraph.

These are to be accompanied by a sealed size 10 business envelope with the author’s real name and a pseudonym, a 2×2 ID photo, and short resume, which must be mailed on or before February 15, 2014.

Entries in English, Cebuano, Hiligaynon, Tagalog or Filipino may be submitted. Fellowships are awarded by genre and by language.

Fifteen applicants will be chosen for the fellowships, which will include partial transportation subsidy and free board and lodging.

This year’s panelists include Rebecca Añonuevo, Grace Monte de Ramos-Arcellana, Genevieve Asenjo, D.M. Reyes, John Iremil Teodoro, and Marjorie Evasco as Workshop Director.

Please submit your application to: Ms. Rowena Japitana, IYAS Secretariat, Special Projects Office, University of St. La Salle, La Salle Avenue, Bacolod City. For inquiries, please email iyasliterary at

IYAS is held in collaboration with the Bienvenido N. Santos Creative Writing Center of De La Salle University-Manila and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts.

UP Mindanao Professor wins 1st Prize in Palanca Awards

Editor's Note by | September 15, 2013

John BenganUP Mindanao Professor John B. Bengan (Dept. of Humanities) was awarded 1st Prize in the English Short Story Category of the 63rd Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature. Prof. Bengan won for his short story, “Armor”, which was first published in Likhaan 6: The Journal of Contemporary Philippine Literature, edited by Gemino H. Abad. “Armor” is set in Mintal, Davao City, and tells the story of Ronnie, a small time drug pusher and beautician/choreographer who joins a gay beauty pageant, and a stranger who arrives at the pageant night to alter the course of Ronnie’s fate. Prof. Bengan teaches literature and creative writing and is the third Palanca-winner in the present faculty roster of the Dept. of Humanities, after Prof. Ricardo M. de Ungria and Prof. Jhoanna Lynn B. Cruz-Daliling. He earned his BA English degree in UP Mindanao and his Master of Fine Arts degree in The New School (New York).

Also, former UP Mindanao Chancellor Professor Ricardo M. de Ungria (Department of Humanities) was appointed UP Artist for the second time. Prof. de Ungria was awarded his second appointment as UP Artist I at the UP Arts Productivity System Awarding Ceremony in August 7 at Ang Bahay ng Alumni, UP Diliman. He is one of eight appointees in the field of Literary Works and one of only two of the 28 appointed UP Artists who come from the regional universities of UP. Prof. de Ungria was a recipient of a National Book Award in 2012 as editor of “Tala Mundi: The Collected Poems of Tita Agcaoili Lacambra Ayala”. He is an advocate of creative writing in the regions, an organizer of literary events and associations, and a prolific writer of poetry.

Bisaya Writing Contest

Editor's Note by | August 23, 2012


1. Ang tigi alang lamang sa tulo(3) ka kategoriya; Sugilanon, Balak ug Gumalaysay nga bukas alang sa mga magsusulat nga nagagikan sa Kaulohan, Kabisay-an ug Mindanao.

2. Ang tigi magsugod sa Hulyo 25, 2012 ug matapos sa Septiyembre 30, 2012, nga ang mga ganti mao kining mga mosunod:

• Unang Ganti- – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – PhP 5,000.00
• Ikaduhang Ganti- – – – – – – – – – – – – – – PhP 3,000.00
• Ikatulong Ganti- – – – – – – – – – – – – – – PhP 2,000.00
• Una ug Ikaduhang Pinasidunggan – – – – – – – PhP 500.00

Continue reading Bisaya Writing Contest

Call for applications to the Ateneo National Writers Workshop 2012

Editor's Note | March 2, 2012

The Ateneo Institute of Literary Arts and Practices (AILAP), with the support from the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), and in cooperation with Humanities Division of Ateneo de Davao University and Heights: The Official Literary and Artistic Publication and Organization of the Ateneo de Manila University, is now accepting applicants for the 11th Ateneo National Writers Workshop (ANWW) to be held from May 21 to 25, 2012 in Davao City.

Each applicant must submit a portfolio in triplicate (3 copies) of any of the following: a suite of five (5) poems OR a collection of three (3) short stories written in Filipino or English with a title page bearing the author’s pseudonym and a table of contents. Entries must be addressed and submitted to the Ateneo Institute of Literary Arts and Practices (AILAP) c/o Department of Filipino, School of Humanities, 3rd Flr. Dela Costa Bldg., Ateneo de Manila University, Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1108.

The portfolio must be in Garamond, font size 12, with one (1″) inch margins on all sides. The portfolio must also be accompanied by a CD containing a file of the portfolio saved in MSWord (.doc or .docx) or Rich Text format (.rtf). All submissions must include a sealed envelope containing the author’s name, address, contact number, e-mail address and a one-page resume including a literary CV with a 1X1 ID picture. The resume must mention the applicant’s province of origin.

Twelve slots are open to beginning writers, from which a few slots will be allocated exclusively to writers from Mindanao and to Heights members. Food and accommodations will be provided for all accepted applicants. Deadline of submission will be on March 31, 2012. For more information, e-mail AILAP Director Dr. Edgar C. Samar at esamar-at-ateneo-dot-edu; or this year’s workshop director, Mr. Allan Derain, at allanderain2003-at-yahoo-dot-com.

Photos from the Davao Writers Workshop 2011

Editor's Note by | October 28, 2011

Davao Writers Workshop Fellows with some members of the Davao Writers Guild:
From left: Dom Cimafranca (standing), (seated) Rene Estremera, Jhoanna Cruz, Aida Rivera Ford, Josie Tejada, Vanessa Doctor, Macario Tiu, and Jondy Arpilleda (standing).

PANELISTS Timothy Montes, Macario Tiu, and Januar Yap

Panelist JOHN BENGAN giving his lecture on “Writing the Vernacular in English”

Fellow JOCY SO-YEUNG of Sun.Star Davao receiving her certificate from Workshop Director JHOANNA CRUZ and Panelist ANTONINO DE VEYRA (also Chair of UP Mindanao Humanities Department)

First Prize winner of the 1ng Satur Apoyon Tigi sa Mubong Sugilanong Binisaya: AL PONCIANO DATU of Cagayan de Oro with Judges MACARIO TIU, DON PAGUSARA, and ARNEL MARDOQUIO. Also in picture is Davao Writers Guild president, JHOANNA CRUZ.