Fellows to the 1st Cagayan de Oro Writers Workshop named

Events | March 27, 2016

Nine (9) young writers have been chosen as writing fellows for the 1st Cagayan de Oro Writers Workshop scheduled on 1 to 3 April at the Reading Room of Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan’s Department of English in Cagayan de Oro City. Said writers workshop is organized by the Nagkahiusang Magsusulat sa Cagayan de Oro (NAGMAC), in partnership with XU Department of English.

The fellows are Jessmark D Acero, Christian S Baldomero, Adeva Jane H Esparrago, Stephanie Alexis C Gonzaga, Arvin E Narvaza (Poetry), Hazel-Gin L Aspera (Non-Fiction), Gari R Jamero, Jeany Mae D Macalam, and Ervin Patrick G Silva (Fiction). This year’s workshop will be paneled by critic-dramaturg Rogelio F Garcia, Jr and other esteemed writers in the city. NAGMAC is also looking into tapping the expertise of other local writers such as poet-fictionist Raul G Moldez, poet Arlene J Yandug, and fictionist-essayist Ma Elena L Paulma. Poet Mark Anthony L Daposala serves as the workshop director.

As one of NAGMAC’s thrust, the workshop aims to revitalize Cagayan de Oro’s local writing culture and assert its identity in the map of regional literatures in the country.

For inquiries from interested partners and sponsors, the workshop secretariat may be reached through email (cdopoetrynight@gmail.com) or through mobile (+63 9166232400).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.